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NEVADA STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY 

985 Damonte Ranch Pkwy Suite 206, Reno, Nevada 89521 

(775) 850-1440  •  1-800-364-2081  •  FAX  (775) 850-1444 

•  Web Page: bop.nv.gov 

 

 

NEVADA STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY 

 

ACTIVITIES REPORT 

 

JULY 17-18, 2019, BOARD MEETING HELD IN LAS VEGAS, NEVADA 

 

This report is prepared and presented to keep interested legislators and others abreast of the activities of the Nevada 

State Board of Pharmacy.  Following is a summary of the July 2019 Board meeting. 

 

Licensing Activity: 

 

- 17 licenses were granted for Out-of-State pharmacies. 

- 5 licenses were granted for Out-of-State Compounding pharmacies. 

- 60 licenses was granted for Out-of-State wholesalers. 

- 16 licenses were granted for Out-of-State Medical Devices, Equipment and Gases (MDEG) companies. 

- 1 license was granted for Nevada MDEG companies.   

- 5 licenses were granted for Nevada pharmacies. 

- 1 license was granted for Nevada Ambulatory Surgery Centers. 

- 2 licenses were granted for a Nevada wholesaler. 

- 1 license was granted for Practitioner Dispensing pending a positive inspection by Board Staff. 

- 1 license was granted for a pharmaceutical technician in training with conditions receive a positive 

evaluation by PRN-PRN prior to licensure. 

 

Disciplinary Actions: 

 

- APRN MC will receive a Letter of Reprimand, pay a $3,000 fine and $1,000 administrative fee and shall 

not engage in any practice which a substantial portion of the practice is providing injections and/or 

intravenous infusions of vitamins or fluids for rehydration for allowing non-practitioner/non-licensed staff 

to possess or prescribe dangerous drugs and/or to obtain, access, possess and store dangerous drugs and/or 

administer drugs when she was not on site at the facility. 

- Pharmacist TS shall receive a Letter of Reprimand, pay a $750.00 fine, and complete and additional 4 

hours of CEU on error prevention and patient counseling for failure to accurately verify a prescription 

resulting in the pharmacy dispensing amlodipine besylate 10 mg tablets rather than amitriptyline 10 mg. 

tablets as prescribed. 

- Pharmaceutical Technician JJ’s pharmaceutical technician registration was revoked for diverting 32 

Hydrocodone 10/325 mg tablets for self-use. 

- Pharmaceutical Technician KT’s pharmaceutical technician registration was revoked for diverting 

approximately 1,000 Tylenol with Codeine #4 tablets for self-use. 

- RE shall pay a $1,500 fine and $1,404.52 administrative fee for railing to renew his CS registration.  He 

wrote 189 prescriptions for controlled substances without a valid registration. 

- SL voluntarily surrendered his Nevada CS registration and agreed to pay a $500.00 administrative fee for 

unprofessional conduct and illegal conduct in prescribing dosages and amounts of Oxycodone and 

Hydrocodone to patients outside the usual course of his professional practice and without a legitimate 

medical purpose. 

- Pharmacist RL voluntarily surrendered his Nevada Pharmacist License and agreed to pay a $750 

administrative fee for unprofessional and illegal conduct in filling approximately 380 fraudulent 

Oxycodone-Acetaminophen and Hydrocodone-Acetaminophen prescriptions. 
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- TN voluntarily surrendered his Nevada CS Registration for unprofessional conduct and illegal conduct in 

creating fraudulent prescriptions for Oxycodone-Acetaminophen and Hydrocodone-Acetaminophen. 

 

Other Activity: 

  

- The usual Board business reports were given, including recent and future speaking engagements; reports 

on national meetings; and collaboration with other state agencies. 

- Licensing software update was provided. 

 

Workshop: 

 

Amendment of Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) 639.250: Restrictions on supervision. The proposed 

amendment to NAC 639.250 will allow for an increase in pharmaceutical technician to pharmacist ratio in certain 

pharmacy settings. 

 

Amendment of Nevada Administrative Code Chapter 453 to add news sections thereto and to amend NAC 

453.070 and NAC 453.074 relating to access to the database of the program established pursuant to NRS 

453.162 by pharmacy personnel, practitioners, delegates of practitioners, and hospitals. 

 

Amendment of Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) 639.220: Schedule of fees.  The proposed amendments to 

NAC 639.220 will increase the fees for the application for an initial registration, and the biennial renewal of a 

registration, as a registered pharmacist, pharmaceutical technician or pharmaceutical technician in training, or for 

authorization to prescribe or possess controlled substances, to cover the cost of maintaining the computerized program 

developed pursuant to NRS 453.162. 

 

Amendment of Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) Chapter 639 to add a new section thereto and to amend 

NAC 453.190 regarding the payment of fees for initial registration, the biennial renewal of a registration, or any 

other fees charged by the Board.  The proposed amendments will require that payment to the Board be made by 

credit card, debit card or electronic transfer of money, or by personal, certified or cashier’s check or money order 

payable to the State Board of Pharmacy. 
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